Hurricane Michael



  • A new State/FEMA Disaster Recovery Centers is open in Calhoun County.


  • The Disaster Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (D-SNAP) is available in 12 counties. D-SNAP is available for households that may not normally qualify for SNAP benefits and provides a month of benefits. To apply or learn more information, visit the Florida Department of Children and Families D-SNAP webpage.
  • Any household or individual displaced due to Hurricane Michael may apply for USDA’s Rural Development Multi-Family Housing Program as a “displaced tenant” and receive priority admission to a USDA-financed apartment. Survivors who were already receiving USDA rental assistance for a unit that has been made uninhabitable can be transferred to another eligible apartment.  For more information, see the flyer.

Local Perspective and Resources

  • This factsheet from Florida Legal Services provides information to renters displaced by disasters on their rights. Another factsheet from the Florida Senior Legal Helpline provides disaster-related tips and reminders for seniors.



  • Survivors in seven counties are now eligible to apply for Individual Assistance. Residents of Calhoun, Clay, Laurens, Randolph, Sumter, Tift, and Turner counties should apply for disaster assistance through or call 800-621-3362.
  • New State/FEMA Disaster Recovery Centers are now open in Crisp, Dougherty, Lee, and Thomas counties.


  • Households that participate in the SNAP program and live in one of 23 counties can use their SNAP benefits to buy hot foods through November 17. This provides additional food options for survivors.

Hurricane Florence

North Carolina


  • An additional five counties (Alamance, Madison, Polk, Rowan, and Tyrrell) are eligible for Public Assistance (all categories).
  • FEMA released another notice of “its intent to take into account the impact of federal laws concerning historic preservation and civil rights on the federal assistance and grant opportunities it provides.” The pertinent laws include the National Historic Preservation Act and the Rehabilitation Act of 1973.

State Action

  • Governor Roy Cooper requested a waiver that would allow those who receive Small Business Administration (SBA) loans to apply for Community Development Block Grant – Disaster Recovery (CDBG-DR) funds without their SBA loans counting against them.

Read previous Disaster Housing Recovery updates at