North Carolina


Ten additional counties have been designated for Individual Assistance (IA) and Public Assistance (PA Categories A and B): Bladen, Columbus, Cumberland, Duplin, Harnett, Lenoir, Jones, Robeson, Sampson, and Wayne. More counties may be designated as assessments continue. FEMA explanations of IA and PA programs are at: HQ-18-127-FactSheet.

Survivors may register with FEMA after filing an insurance claim. If internet access is available, the best way to register is:

Survivors can also call 800-621-3362 (FEMA). Applicants who use 711 or Video Relay Service may also call 800-621-3362. People who are deaf, hard of hearing or have a speech disability and use a TTY may call 800-462-7585.

State Government

The North Carolina Department of Public Safety reports over 200,000 power outages across the state. Residents can call 211 for information on shelters, food assistance, and storm recovery help.

Small Business Administration

The 18 counties included in the disaster declaration are eligible for both Physical and Economic Injury Disaster Loans from SBA. Residents of an additional 13 counties (Chatham, Greene, Hoke, Hyde, Johnston, Lee, Martin, Moore, Pitt, Scotland, Wake, Washington, and Wilson) are eligible for Economic Injury Loans only. Physical Injury loans are for repairing damaged or destroyed property (real estate, equipment, inventory, etc.), and Economic Injury loans are to help meet working capital needs caused by the disaster.

SBA has opened a Business Recovery Center in Greenville, North Carolina. SBA representatives at the center can help provide information about disaster loans or complete applications.

South Carolina

Small Business Administration

Residents in Dillon, Horry, and Marlboro counties are eligible for Economic Injury Loans through SBA.



The Federal Housing Administration issued a reminder of its guidance for originating and/or servicing FHA-insured mortgages in presidentially declared major disaster areas. This guidance includes a 90-day foreclosure moratorium.

Fannie Mae

Fannie may has issued guidance for presidentially declared major disaster areas impacted by Hurricane Florence. Under this guidance, homeowners are eligible to stop making mortgage payments for up to 12 months, servicers can suspend or reduce a homeowner’s mortgage payments for up to 90 days, and foreclosure and other legal proceedings must be suspended.

Read previous Disaster Housing Recovery updates at